Tags

,

The final third of the 30 Days Wild project saw me do a bit better than I had been doing. However I still don’t think I really made the most of the month. It’s better than nothing, though, right?

21 June
Today I actually managed to sit outside for a bit, which was nice. At least it wasn’t raining.

22 June
I didn’t get out much today, but I managed to find a few nice pictures of wildlife on Twitter.

23 June
I ended up by the river today, which was nice, although I was more focused on my bowl of frozen yoghurt than nature.

The bus of joy

The bus of joy

24 June
Today I went to the National Portrait Gallery, so didn’t get much of a chance to appreciate nature, but then I went to the Globe and enjoyed the “garden” that’s been created on Bankside.

25 June
As it was my friend’s hen do today, I didn’t get much of a chance to enjoy the outdoors, unless you count chasing balloons all over the place, or carrying a blow-up doll over Tower Bridge. Oh well.

26 June
Decided to use the Wild Flower Spray I got from Kew Gardens a couple of years ago. It really does smell lovely.

Wild Flower Spray

27 June
My hayfever kicked in pretty badly today, so I hid indoors. However, I read a few blogs by other project participants.

28 June
At a loss for something to do, I found a few nature-related poems online. I particularly liked ‘The Owls’ by Charles Baudelaire, which I hadn’t come across before.

29 June
The penultimate day. I took some advice from the 30 Days Wild site and decided to spend some time looking at the clouds, searching for bees and basically keeping my eye out for wildlife.

30 June
On the last day, I sat and read my book outside for a bit.

After completing the challenge I took the ‘How wild are you now?’ quiz on the website and got a higher score than last time, suggesting that the challenge has actually done me some good. I would like to do more, though. I’ve been thinking about ways in which I could spend some more time outdoors and make the most of nature.

  • I’m going on a walk on Sunday along the canal near King’s Cross.
  • I would like to visit the London Wetland Centre and have a look around.
  • I keep meaning to get back into running. I spent time last year running round the local park, but the weather’s been dreadful this year. However, it seems to be improving so maybe it’s time for me to get myself out again.
