Tags

,

I could start this post by remarking that 2015 has gone by way too fast, and 2016 has arrived much too quickly, etc., etc. I’m sure anyone reading this has already made these remarks several times, and heard them many more, so assume I’ve already said them, and that it’s a given.

Anyway. The New Year is always an important time for me. Even though it’s a massive cliché, and hugely predictable, and it doesn’t make any sense anyway because the new year is an artificial construct, I like to think that it’s a time to draw a line under all the mistakes of the past year and prep yourself ready for making some brand new ones during the coming year. Or something like that.

More positively, I’d like to think about all the things I have to look forward to in 2016.

  1. Ramin Karimloo concert. This takes place very soon – this month, in fact. Ramin is my favourite West End star but I haven’t seen him live for ages as he’s been playing Jean Valjean in Les Miserables on Broadway. I am unbelievably excited for this concert!
  2. Shakespeare’s 400th anniversary. 2016 marks 400 years since Shakespeare’s death. There are exciting productions to look forward to at the RSC, and the Globe are putting on special events. I wouldn’t be surprised if other theatre companies decided to mark the occasion in some way.
  3. My friend Gemma’s wedding. This will be in the summer and I am VERY excited. It is likely to involve a boat, which is always a bonus. Also, with a wedding comes a hen do, which I am sure will also be great fun.
  4. Holiday. I didn’t really have a holiday last year, mainly because I spent all my money on theatre tickets. This year, I hope to change that. I will probably end up going somewhere with my mam – we went to Scotland a couple of years ago and, perhaps surprisingly, didn’t want to kill each other, so we may go back this year, albeit to a different part of the country. I still harbour an ambition to travel on the West Highland Line, but my mam quite fancies Stirling, so we’ll see!
