Tags

, , , ,

Kingston upon Thames is a Surrey town that I can reach easily by bus, and it’s a nice place to while away a few hours. I’ve recently discovered the Rose Theatre, which I love as you can buy pit tickets (bring your own cushion) for as little as £5. On Saturday I had a matinee ticket to see A Life of Galileo and decided to get there early to explore Kingston a little.

The town has some lovely old buildings, like this Victorian police station:

2014_0329Kingston01

I also found this interesting sculpture, with red phone boxes lined up like dominoes. The official name is ‘Out of Order’ and it is by artist David Mach.

2014_0329Kingston02

Finally I popped into the Kingston Museum., which is free to enter and open Tues-Sat. Located on Wheatfield Way, the museum has permanent galleries which tell the story of Kingston from ancient times to the present day, as well as temporary exhibitions.

2014_0329Kingston03

