Tags

, , , , , ,

It was very cold this weekend. I seriously regretted not taking my gloves when I went to Stratford-upon-Avon to see The Winter’s Tale at the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. I enjoyed the performance, but spent all my time outside with my hands clasped close to my body trying to keep them warm.

On Sunday I managed to tick off some more Underground stations: I stuck to the west, beginning with both Edgwares and ending with Bayswater.  I visited the Museum of Brands, Packaging and Advertising near Portobello Road, which consisted mainly of product packaging from the Victorian era to the present day. Some of the adverts were (unintentionally, I presume) very funny, but I loved the Victorian perfume bottles – I wish you could still get bottles like that.

I went to see Les Miserables at the nearby Odeon in Whiteleys shopping centre, and as I had expected, it made me cry. Anne Hathaway and Hugh Jackman were both excellent, and though Russell Crowe wasn’t great I didn’t think he was as bad as he had been made out to be.

